Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Hole in part of transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2016, 10:13 PM
Default Hole in part of transmission?

I have a 2005 Sebring Touring convertible that had a broken driver's side CV half-shaft. I replaced it and when I put in transmission fluid, it drained under the car. I took the wheel back off and found this hole (circled in pic). Also the transmission mount was broken on that same side. I'm assuming the transmission was sitting on or hitting the area where the control arm screw is (arrow in pic) because the bracket the arm sits in is also missing part of top. The bracket is below the hole.

I'm not a mechanic and it's probably a stupid question, but should there not be a hole there? Could that hole be where the transmission fluid is draining out? Is that hole part of the whole transmission or a separate replaceable part?

I stuck my finger in the hole and there was black grease. The transmission fluid that drained under the car was not dirty and red color like the new fluid I had just poured in. Does that area where the hole is hold transmission fluid? If not, is it just a fluid-less area? The broken CV shaft boot was ripped off at the transmission side. Maybe the black grease is the boot grease?

Does the whole transmission needs to be replaced, or can that hole be sealed (like welding a metal piece on). Any info and advice is appreciated.

Vince

Attached Thumbnails Hole in part of transmission?-trans-hole.jpg  
Old 12-30-2016, 10:56 AM

There should not be a hole there. The "black grease" could be a combination of old oxidized transmission fluid and dirt that sat in the bottom of the case for who knows how long after the damage was done from the broken mount. It's likely that the new fluid you put in just ran over the top of the gunk at the bottom and right out the hole.