Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

P0140 - O2 Sensor

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2009, 06:18 AM
Default P0140 - O2 Sensor

I've got a question. Several weeks ago, my check engine light came on. It freaked me out, but so far, I haven't really noticed anything out of the ordinary. I did the start-up thing to get the output codes and I got P0140. From what I've read, I know that it has something to do with an O2 Sensor. Can anyone tell me what exactly this does? Also, I'm a poor college student, so I really prefer not to spend money unless absolutely necessary. Is this something that needs to be fixed soon? Thanks.

Edit: Also, if it's important, I drive a 2002 Chrysler Sebring LXI 2.7L.

Old 03-03-2009, 02:22 PM

Driving the car with the check engine light on for an extended period is not a good idea. That code is telling you that the computer is not getting a proper signal from the downstream O2 sensor on the rear bank of cylinders. So what does that mean? It may mean that the O2 sensor is in need of replacement. It may mean that the catalytic converter on that side is going bad. Either way, when the computer generates that code it doesn't trust the readings it gets from the sensor and operates the engine by "educated guess" rather than by what is actually happening in the combustion cycle. The result is that you will be getting worse gas mileage and worse performance than the engine is capable of, and this may lead to further deterioration of the catalytic converters and more pollution from the engine. Long story made short, fixing sooner is cheaper than letting it go.