Go Back   Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums > Chrysler Vehicles > Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern Connecticut
Posts: 3
Default 2006 300C Speedo replacement

Hello all, I'm new to the forum and I have a question.

I'm looking at a 2006 300C with a bad speedo cluster. A boneyard replacement is cheap enough BUT I have one concern. Years ago I swapped out a BCM on a 2001 Dodge Caravan and I was surprised to see the odometer mileage change to that of the donor car.

Does anyone know where the odometer info is stored on the 300C? On the speedo cluster itself, or the BCM or ECM?

Thanks in advance! Carl
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on ChryslerForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2012, 04:37 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 6,995
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

its stored in the cluster itself it is now the BCM
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2012, 05:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern Connecticut
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, Kevin!

Can the dealer input the correct mileage via the OBT-II connector, or do I have to take the cluster to a speedo repair shop to have that done before I put it in?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2012, 09:38 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 6,995
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

The clusters come from the company Chrysler uses to program them so when a dealer gets them they are ready to install. things like miles are not allowed by just any one to be programed or we could easily reprogram the miles on a car and sell them and that is illegal
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:23 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern Connecticut
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:23 AM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
2001, 300, 300c, bcm, caravan, chrysler, cluster, conncarl, dealer, dodge, ecm, mileage, pcm, programmed, register, speedo, stored

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup