Go Back   Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums > Chrysler Vehicles > Chrysler PT Cruiser
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-02-2010, 02:40 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default 05 Cruiser won't start/won't crank

Hello, Thanks in advance for your help.

2005 PT Cruiser 2.4L non-turbo 5 speed standard. I drove it to work, it ran fine. I got in it to go to lunch and it won't crank. I hear the fuel pump presure up and the lights are good, but it will not tun over. I can jump from battery + to the starter solenoid, it will crank, but will not start. Turned the key to the run position jumped from battery + to solenoid, it will crank, but will not start. I replaced the ignition switch, no change.
1) How do I pull the codes?
2) Will a defective cam or crank sensor cause an engine not to crank?

Thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on ChryslerForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:31 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

No, cam and crank sensor will not cause a "no crank" condition. Not on their own anyway. MAYBE if one of them shorted and took down the PCI Bus it's possible, however not typical. The IPM could have a problem. It powers up MANY things. Check ALL of your fuses.
Nowadays when you flip a switch or press a button, it just sends a request signal to a module telling it to do something. Ignition switch just shows STATE of position and doesn't actually send current anywhere.
__________________
Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge Master Tech


DodgeForum.com Moderator

Last edited by TNtech; 09-02-2010 at 10:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:34 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I would ask you to consult a good mechanic what the problem.he'll be able to tell you what's wrong and solve it.
__________________
Cheap Sectional Couches
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:09 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default Resolution and Thanks

I would like to say thanks to all how have taken the time to respond with suggestions and ideas. I would like to post the resolution in hope that it might help someone else. Resolution: I found the yellow ignition wire from the ignition switch to the positive trigger side of the ignition relay in the fuse box under the hood had been cut. A relay had been installed in series in the yellow wire. Obviously being used as a starter interupt. The relay was controlled by an GPS locater that had been mounted under the dash. The locater was malfunctioning and causing the intermittant starting problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2010, 12:22 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Don't you love those wiring hack jobs
__________________
Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge Master Tech


DodgeForum.com Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:46 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
2002 Chrysler Sebring
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 3,485
Default

Sometimes those things are put in by the finance company to disable the car remotely if the payments get behind.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2010, 10:13 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default

How many miles on the car? It sounds like the timing belt went.
Matt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2010, 01:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Elkins park,pa
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to TaritaSchultz
Default No bus

I have a 2006 pt cruiser non turbo, which just shut down on me, It wont crank, lights and radio works,without the key and it says "no bus" on the dash. what do I do
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2010, 10:05 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 7,144
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

a no bus issue is a computer issue or something causing the computer to have an issue take it to some one for this sorta thing
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:56 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 7,144
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

humm 1 million
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 04:56 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
2005, aspen, bus, change, chrysler, code, crossfire, cruiser, location, pt, reasons, relay, start, starter, wont

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Emails Backup