Go Back   Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums > Chrysler Vehicles > Chrysler PT Cruiser
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default camshaft position sensor

I just installed a new rebuilt head in my 2002 Pt Cruiser and had trouble starting the car. I got a P0340 Code and went to replace the sensor and noticed the new head was missing the target magnet on the camshaft and obtained one from the local Chrysler dealer. I replaced the camshaft sensor as well. Car will not start, when I un-plug the sensor it will start and give the P0340 code and will die immediately when I plug the sensor back in. How do I go about trouble shooting this issue? I am kinda stumped at the moment. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on ChryslerForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:18 AM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 7,141
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

look at what u changed they could have given u a wrong head.
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2008, 07:39 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
2002 Chrysler Sebring
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 3,477
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

Make sure you haven't confused the connectors for the camshaft position sensor and crankshaft position sensor. They look the same.
__________________
Engineer and current owner of two Sebrings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:04 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

The casting numbers on the head matched up, no clue if camshaft is correct? Where do you find out correct lobe position. I hopefully haven't confused the crankshaft sensor with the camshaft sensor, I don't believe they will reach one another. I get continuity from the sensor to the orange/white wire (pin 1) is connected to pin 44, the tan/yellow(pin3) to pin to pin 33, and the black/light blue (center pin 2 of plug) to to pin 43 at the pcm. What other avenues do I need to try.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2008, 06:29 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
2002 Chrysler Sebring
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 3,477
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

I wonder...
Chrysler changed the position of the crankshaft sensor from the front of the engine to the back somewhere around this time. (02) That required re-programming the computer to accept that the sensor was 180° out of phase with the rest of the system. Maybe they flipped the magnets on the camshaft sensor to minimize the re-programming of the PCM????

So if you got a head that was designed for the other crank sensor...??

I'm just speculating here, but maybe to need to double check that part number. Casting number might not reflect a part number change.
__________________
Engineer and current owner of two Sebrings.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2008, 02:33 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

I am having the same problem. Except I re-worked the head. I am using all the original parts. What could be causing this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:52 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
2002 Chrysler Sebring
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 3,477
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

Underneath the camshaft sensor are the target magnets it uses to sense the camshaft position. Take a look at that piece to make sure it's not cracked.
__________________
Engineer and current owner of two Sebrings.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:05 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

OK. The magnet was cracked on the back side so I replaced it. No help. I have ohm'ed out the wiring harness. No broken or shorted wired. Finally, I took it to a Chrysler Dealership to be analized on their computer. The following is what they reported; "No Cam Signal at PCM.", "Preformed DRB Test and Checked Wiring.Valve Timing is Off." I was told the intake cam was 3 teeth off. Is this possible? When warm, the car starts up and idles as soon as you hit the starter, and runs fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:58 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
2002 Chrysler Sebring
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 3,477
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

I would have a hard time believing the car could start and run "fine" with the camshaft three teeth off of its proper position. One would think that the valves would be crashing into the piston and getting mangled up if it's that far off. BUT, if it's only the intake cam, and it's late in opening the intake valves, I suppose it could run without damage but not very efficiently. It's not a big deal to pull the covers off the belt and look to see if the timing marks are lined up.
As for the lack of a camshaft signal, you already knew that, the question is why? Maybe when the signal is that late, the computer assumes it's not there and shuts things down.
So you might want to have a look-see at the timing marks and determine whether the cams are properly lined up.
Let us know.
__________________
Engineer and current owner of two Sebrings.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default RE: camshaft position sensor

Thank you! I will check it again and let you know what I find. You guy's are a big help and I really appreciate your imput!!!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 09:46 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
2002, 2004, 300m, cam, camshaft, chrysler, concorde, crank, crankshaft, crossfire, location, magnet, pacifica, position, sensor, srt4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Emails Backup