Go Back   Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums > Chrysler Vehicles > Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-25-2011, 07:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default 2001 Town and Country Fan Blower

I just bought this and was running great for almost 2 hours.

I get it home, park it and clean the shyt out of the interior.

Well, my wife took it to work last night and the fan isn't working all of a sudden. A/C, Heat etc etc. The back fan works perfectly fine, but the front one isn't doing anything.

Any ideas as to what I could check?

I'm a noob when it comes to T & C's.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on ChryslerForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2011, 08:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numanchi View Post
I just bought this and was running great for almost 2 hours.

I get it home, park it and clean the shyt out of the interior.

Well, my wife took it to work last night and the fan isn't working all of a sudden. A/C, Heat etc etc. The back fan works perfectly fine, but the front one isn't doing anything.

Any ideas as to what I could check?

I'm a noob when it comes to T & C's.
Ok.. So I've been doing some reading and I found that I need to test the green wire that hooks to the back of the resistor.

What I'm not sure of is.. Isn't this the wire to the motor? How would I get 12V if it's not hooked up?

The way I'm thinking about it is..

Take a home fan.. With the plug.. How do you get 120V if it's not plugged into the wall? :P

So, lets pretend this is what I'm suppose to check.
I checked it with my multimeter by plugging 1 lead into the green side and found a decent ground on a bolt under the dash.

Am I doing this correct?

Thanks,

Larry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2011, 09:34 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 6,993
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

yes doing correct
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2011, 09:51 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRYSLER TECH View Post
yes doing correct
Hello,

So this is what I've done thus far..

1. I removed the glovebox to get to the motor
2. I removed the connector with the thick black and green wires
3. Tested this connector with the key on and I get nothing
4. I THEN tested the back of the resistor (assuming this is where this plug connects) and I got 12V
5. Wacked the motor with a hammer and nothing happened
6. Not sure what to do now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2011, 04:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Update.....

I took the motor out of the van completely and hooked it direct to the battery.

Works perfect with no noises or anything.

So.. I've eliminated the following..

Blower motor
Resistor
Fuse
Relay

I've been told that the head unit may be screwed up?

Not sure how I can test this.

Thanks,

Larry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2011, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NE PENN
Posts: 992
Default

STOP.....

Back up a few steps ..and start over.....


You will ALWAYS have 12 V at the back of the resistor...... The power is constant...The ground side operates the blower motor.

Now....Lose the "Multimeter".....And use a Basic Aligator clip and bulb Circuit tester..... In a pinch...a simple 194 bulb with two pieces of wire will work just fine.

Now plug it all back in the way it was...and try HIGH speed on the dash ****. Post back your results.
__________________
Professional Mechanic since 1985, Chrysler Dealership Technician since 1999.

We aren't ALL thieves, We're Just trying to make a living like everyone else , So Have A Heart.

If You wanted Dealership Service, You wouldnt Go To "Discount Quik Lube" , So why did you Walk into a dealership Expecting QUIK LUBE PRICING????

Ma'am, It costs so much money, because ...I CAN, And you CANNOT, And It matters Not to Me, Because I HAVE A RIDE HOME.
3/36 Does not mean 3 years and a day, or 36,001
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2011, 05:21 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn-n-Tonic View Post
STOP.....

Back up a few steps ..and start over.....


You will ALWAYS have 12 V at the back of the resistor...... The power is constant...The ground side operates the blower motor.

Now....Lose the "Multimeter".....And use a Basic Aligator clip and bulb Circuit tester..... In a pinch...a simple 194 bulb with two pieces of wire will work just fine.

Now plug it all back in the way it was...and try HIGH speed on the dash ****. Post back your results.
Done and it's not working still.

I probably should have stated this earlier but mine is the AUTO unit with 3 zones.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2011, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NE PENN
Posts: 992
Default

Ok..... Thats different.....

That means The block you have been checking isnt a resistor, but rather a Blower Power Module......It does basically the same thing, but performs it VERY differently....

Stay tuned, I'll try and dig up a circuit diagram. Does the Control Head display everything properly......Do all of the buttons light up when you press them??
__________________
Professional Mechanic since 1985, Chrysler Dealership Technician since 1999.

We aren't ALL thieves, We're Just trying to make a living like everyone else , So Have A Heart.

If You wanted Dealership Service, You wouldnt Go To "Discount Quik Lube" , So why did you Walk into a dealership Expecting QUIK LUBE PRICING????

Ma'am, It costs so much money, because ...I CAN, And you CANNOT, And It matters Not to Me, Because I HAVE A RIDE HOME.
3/36 Does not mean 3 years and a day, or 36,001
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2011, 05:38 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn-n-Tonic View Post
Ok..... Thats different.....

That means The block you have been checking isnt a resistor, but rather a Blower Power Module......It does basically the same thing, but performs it VERY differently....

Stay tuned, I'll try and dig up a circuit diagram. Does the Control Head display everything properly......Do all of the buttons light up when you press them??
Yes they do.

It's all digital and I kinda hate it, but they all look like they are doing what they are suppose to be doing :P

And Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2011, 06:06 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

You need to replace the blower power module. I had the same problem.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 06:06 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
2001, blower, bolwer, chry, chrysler, country, fan, front, motor, plug, removal, replacement, resistor, schematic, town

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup