Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Bad key message on my 2010 T&C

Old 04-14-2013, 09:21 PM
Default Bad key message on my 2010 T&C

Hello, newbie here, please be kind. :-) Today I got an error message on my dash panel that says "bad key" when I try to turn the ignition on. The remote buttons still work to activate the doors, however. Our second key continues to work properly.

The key I've been using was purchased nearly a year ago on Amazon. It was advertised as a new replacement OEM keyless remote & key combo. (We purchased the car used and it came with only one key.) I had my local Chrysler dealer program the key and it has been working fine for 11 months.

Any chance the key just needs a new battery?

Old 04-15-2013, 04:59 PM

In short......

NO.

The battery only works The RKE Functions. The serial code for the key is ETCHED in during programming.

Considering the other key works, It is safe to assume the inop key is Junk.

Old 04-15-2013, 06:31 PM

Thanks for the reply, Djinn-n-Tonic. I was hoping for a less expensive solution, hence replacing the battery first to see if that did the trick, and sure enough that did nothing. I was expecting the key to last longer than 12 months. Is this to be expected, keys malfunctioning after a short time? If I spent twice as much and bought it from a dealer would I have any kind of a guarantee? I already checked with the seller I purchased the OEM replacement key, and I was told the warranty was only good for 90 days. This is the first car we've owned with a transponder-type key so we weren't expecting the expense that comes with them.

Old 04-15-2013, 07:07 PM

Originally Posted by madminivanmama