Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Car Cameras - Dash Cams

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2014, 12:29 PM
Default Car Cameras - Dash Cams

I've been using various forms of in-car cameras for quite a few years now, and although I've not yet captured any footage that I could sell to the press or give to my insurance company to support a claim, I have recorded some very close shaves, some ludicrous driving and quite a few amusing incidents. Some of the cameras I have used have been of dreadful quality and some have been acceptable quality but temperamental in use, but the one I've been using for the last 2 or 3 years is quite remarkable insofar as the camera cost me £25.00, including shipping from China, it's tiny and therefore very discreet, and the picture quality is amazing, especially when you consider the size and the price.

All these cameras use a micro or standard SD card and most will take up to a 32 Gb card which will give up to 10 hours of video and audio recording. Recording can be set to continuous record so that when the SD card becomes full the camera will overwrite the oldest files on the card.

The little camera I'm currently using is known as the '808 #16 keychain camera' and looks for all the world like a car remote key fob. The only downside to this camera is that because it's not specifically designed as a Dash-Cam, it doesn't start recording when the ignition is switched on like most dedicated Dash-Cams do.

For anybody who wants to find out more about these cameras there is a gentleman who goes under the name of 'techmoan' who has made some very informative reviews on some of the dash-cams which are available: Car Cameras - YouTube

A couple of examples filmed with my little 808 #16 keychain camera:
Example #1

Example #2

Example #3