Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Grand Voyager 2.8 Ltd XS.

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2014, 05:31 AM
Default Grand Voyager 2.8 Ltd XS.

Hi all,

I am a brand newbie here so please excuse me if Ive posted this in the wrong area of the forum

Basically I am very tempted with purchasing our first ever Chrysler GV.

We have just offloaded a 2002 Renault Grand Espace and were thinking of replacing it with the newer shape GE, then started to think out of the box and began looking into the Chrysler alternative.

The model we have narrowed it down to is a 2005 2.8 Ltd XS diesel with 80K miles on it.

I appreciate its a lucky dip, but would be eternally grateful if anyone could suggest any common failings of one of these fantastic cars with this amount of mileage?

Cheers,

Merle. (UK)

Old 01-25-2014, 08:51 AM

Common failings? Just read the postings on here, just read the postings. 80,000mile is a bit low for a nine year old vehicle. Be suspicious of that mileage.

You'll not be short of space, the engines (diesel) last forever. It's a comfortable long distance cruiser whether you're shifting people or furniture. After 110,000mile mine has no squeaks rattles or groans. You may have electrical issues. Carry a spare good battery and jump leads until you are sure there's no problems. Check the HOAT antifreeze was replaced after 5 years in a 50-50 water solution. Otherwise the radiator plugs up, the thermostat jams open, and you've a bill of several hundred pounds. Aluminium core radiators can't be flushed. The handbrake's not very good, the americans regard them as "parking-brakes" only, not emergency brakes.
Owners who are going to get rid of a vehicle often neglect proper maintenance. Check this thoroughly.
Hope you get a good one that's been looked after.

Leedsman.

Old 01-25-2014, 09:13 AM

Originally Posted by Leedsman