Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Replacing solenoid pack

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 04:09 PM
Default Replacing solenoid pack

2002 3.8 Town and Country limited.

Ive owned this van for over a year, and since the day I brought it home, it has had a hesitation going into 2nd gear. None of the other gears have any issue changing. There is no slipping. I had the transmission tested and it passed all the tests it was supposed to.

The first month I had it, i changed out the tranny fluid and filter and made sure levels were ideal.

It has run over a year with this issue and it hasnt really gotten worse, or better.

I purchased a new solenoid pack for the tranny, in hopes that perhaps it might fix the issue.

My question is.. do I need to drain the tranny before replacing this solenoid pack? It is on the front of the tranny, but I have never done it before myself, and would hate to do it wrong.

Thanks for your help.

Old 01-08-2011, 08:42 PM

Doubtful that it will fix your issue.....But

You SHOULD drain the fluid, but you dont "Have To"......It will drain out sufficiently when removing the pack.... After that, remove the cooler lines, unscrew the pressure switch and remove the three 10mm bolts and the 8mm wiring harness connector.

Honestly,,,,,I would rather you box it back up and return it, and spend that money having a competent trans guy diagnose your concern......Thats a Mighty large chunk to spend on a hunch......

Old 01-09-2011, 06:39 AM

Well, funny thing is, it was a chrysler dealership that did the test on the trasnsmission initially.

It isn't a slipping going into 2nd gear. And when I read up on the issue initially, I found that a lot of people were having the same problem with these transmissions.