Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

rust repair

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 11:58 AM
Default rust repair

any tips for rust repair to the lower area just in front of the rear tires along with part of the rocker panel under the sliding door. I'm thinking of cutting original metal off and welding in the repair panel. I've never done it before, but am willing to give it a try. I'll have to buy a wire welder, I've welded before just not body repair panels.

Does anyone have any better repair strategies.

thanks

Old 09-30-2014, 12:51 PM

If you've not welded thin guage steel before then take a few lessons before you end up with even more holes than you started with

Old 09-30-2014, 01:30 PM

How bad is it? Use rust eater on it if not to bad! Thats what i will do on my gt4.

Old 09-30-2014, 01:52 PM

Yes welding thin metal with standard rod welder is hard and involves using thin rods like 2mm etc., and very low amps. MIG welding is easier and not so likely to get blow through. TIG welding is like gas welding without panel buckling.
Practice, practice, practice results in good welding especially on car body panels. To avoid blow through on butt welds add a second skin behind the join. But don't try welding rust, get it all cut out.
There maybe repair panels available as at motorfactors.
Saying that I've yet to see a rusty Voyager, think yours has been used as a submarine somewhere by the sea.
Good Luck...

Old 10-01-2014, 03:37 AM

Must agree with all the above, plus a few additions:--