Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Thick black smoke when accelerating

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2014, 03:17 PM
Default Thick black smoke when accelerating

hi newbie here, ive noticed over the last few weeks that my car has been belching thick black smoke smoke i even left a cyclist gasping for breath. Its almost like a huge smoke screen but it happens when accelerating or changing gears the longer i drove the car the better it got but it was still pretty bad

2.5 crd diesel.

Any ideas????

Old 08-22-2014, 06:08 PM

Black smoke usually has something to do with a fuel injection system malfunction
Blue smoke can indicate you are burning engine oil somehow and white smoke is a coolant leak, mostly blown head gaskets, or there is a new pope elected .

Old 08-23-2014, 06:51 AM

From posted symptoms, i.e. getting better with long driving, I would go for injector cleaning the pro. way. This means pouring some Forte' diesel injector cleaner in the fuel filter and then running the engine on your normal driving.
If this makes a vast difference, try cleaning-diesel like BP. Ulimate or Shell V-power for a few months.

Leedsman.

Old 08-23-2014, 09:36 AM

thanks guys, how about replacing the the injectors with second hand ones from fleabay

Andhow much roughly is it to have them cleaned professionally?

Old 08-24-2014, 01:34 AM
tfb

I can recommend Swadlincote Diesel Bosch Injectors in the Midlands : Swadlincote Diesel F.I.S. Co Ltd as a place to send your injectors to have them tested. Recondition injectors from there will be about £140 each.

You could try the "italian tune-up" method, take it somewhere quiet and drive it like you stole it. Maximum revs in 2nd or 3rd gear and let it blow some of the crud out of the engine.

Regards
Richard

Old 09-04-2014, 04:35 PM

BG244 is a great cleaner with the Devil's own V-Power juice

Old 09-04-2014, 05:46 PM