Go Back   Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums > General Chrysler Forums > General Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-02-2010, 10:22 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default Radio Not Working

Replaced yellow 20 amp fuse in cavity #36 for radio/handheld. Still nothing...any suggestions? Car has just past it's warrnty date as well. 2008 Chrysler 300 Touring.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on ChryslerForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:16 AM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 7,051
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

was the fuse blown?
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2010, 10:03 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

No, it wasn't. Funny how things happen when the warranty period has run out!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2010, 10:56 AM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 7,051
Send a message via AIM to CHRYSLER TECH Send a message via Yahoo to CHRYSLER TECH
Default

Ok now get a test light or volt meter remove the radio and check for the powers and grounds at the connector
__________________
Dealer trained Tech 15 years Now Proud Owner operator Kevin's Mobile Repair in ATLANTA. Repairing Chrysler,Dodge and Jeep
KKeller608@aol.com
http://kevinsmobilerepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2010, 11:23 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Will do...might take me awhile!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:08 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
2002 Chrysler Sebring
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 3,402
Default

Often there's more than one fuse that controls the radio. Some functions of the radio require power even with the key off (clock) and are on a different fuse. Are any other items not working? (power seat, remote locks?) Check your owners manual and the underside of the lids from the fuse boxes to see if you can find any other references to fuses for the radio.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2010, 09:24 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikki View Post
Funny how things happen when the warranty period has run out!!!

YES...it's an evil conspiracy! We know where you live and sent a signal by satellite to destroy your radio! Now you must pay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:51 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

haha...no kidding. I called the CHrysler dealership and they advised me that this model was prone to the radio not lasting very long (wish they would have told me that at signing!!) Am waiting for my boyfriend to check the wwires. A NEW factory radio is $900 (CDN)...don't think I'll be getting one of those!!! Will let you know what happens......................It's pretty darn quiet going to work in the morning!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:23 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikki View Post
haha...no kidding. I called the CHrysler dealership and they advised me that this model was prone to the radio not lasting very long (wish they would have told me that at signing!!) Am waiting for my boyfriend to check the wwires. A NEW factory radio is $900 (CDN)...don't think I'll be getting one of those!!! Will let you know what happens......................It's pretty darn quiet going to work in the morning!!!

HEHE, yeah just get a decent aftermarket one installed. You'll be MUCH happier with it. For 900 bucks think how nice of a setup you could get!

On a side note, no particular year model is prone to bad radios really. Vendors are a funny thing. One batch might last 10 or more years, one batch may last 6 months. You can find these all over Ebay, but then you'll be right back where you started.

Last edited by TNtech; 10-07-2010 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2010, 09:59 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

OK......I seriously am dumbfounded. The whole "Radio" thing happened one morning...I went to get gas...the radio was working fine...I turned the car off to refuel and when I started it , the radio did not work. I pressed every button on it, channel selection, volume, eject button, etc. to no avail. My boyfriend & I were in the car today and he pushed the eject button for the CD, and the radio started working again......what the hell????? Now it works fine.........I seriously am dumbfounded.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 09:59 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
1992, 300, 36, chrysler, crossfire, forum, fuse, higher, power, radio, repair, satellite, seat, stops, turning, volume, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Emails Backup