Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/300m-concorde-lhs-new-yorker-19/)
-   -   1996 Chrysler LHS - Idle Problem - Please Help (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/300m-concorde-lhs-new-yorker-19/1996-chrysler-lhs-idle-problem-please-help-27184/)

lhsguy 02-27-2017 01:08 PM

1996 Chrysler LHS - Idle Problem - Please Help

Hey everyone,

I'm brand new to the Chrysler Forum, and this is my first post. Hopefully, this will help other LHS owners as well. Here's my story...

A few years ago, my uncle sold me his 1996 Chrysler LHS 3.5L V6 for $600. At the time, it had 150k miles on it and was always garage kept, never driven hard, and always taken to a dealer for any maintenance. Right before I bought it, my uncle had put almost $2,000 of work into it to replace all of the motor mounts and fix up the undercarriage.

Last year, it started to give me a lot of issues. The car would shut off while driving. I determined that the crankshaft position sensor was the issue, replaced it, and the problem went away. At the time, the car also had a random overheating issue. I found out that the head gasket had blown and treated the coolant system with head gasket stop leak. During all of this, we had to replace all of the hoses, radiator, water pump, thermostat, and timing belt. There have also been issues with the fuel pump, fuel injectors, and coil pack. Since then, the overheating issue had stopped.