Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   Chrysler 200 & Sebring (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-200-sebring-14/)
-   -   3.0 liter engine oil capacity (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-200-sebring-14/3-0-liter-engine-oil-capacity-2700/)

01sebringphanatic 03-10-2007 08:02 AM

3.0 liter engine oil capacity

newbie here. (not sure if the spelling is right)
i've recently purchased 2001 chrysler sebring coupe with 3.0 liter engine.
and the first thing i noticed was that this car needs an (engine)oil change right away.
but with no manual, i'm pretty much stuck as to how many quarts i should put in.
i hope somebody can get back to me soon.
by the way, i'm already thinking 10w30 mobil 1 with synthetic stabilizer. good idea or bad? let me know.

01sebringphanatic 03-10-2007 10:09 PM

RE: 3.0 liter engine oil capacity

i just found out that it's 4.5 qts.
but now i'm stuck with trying to find out what kind of tranny fluid i should use for my transmission. (no help from the pepboys)
i'll try to the dealership tomorrow, but the sooner the better for me.

CHRYSLER TECH 03-11-2007 04:40 PM

ATF +4

01sebringphanatic 03-11-2007 09:08 PM

thank you.
that saves me calling a dealership.
actually,i was thinkingof pourring some because, i thoughtit wasa bit low. (and the car jerks at rear shift, which i hope it's from being low on the fluid level)
anyway, i see a big potential on this car, but this car needs a tune-up big time.
sofor starters i'll start out with changing the engine oil.
and go from there.
by the way, has anybody flush the tranny fluid by yourself?
i know, the cottman transmission place quoted me for near $200,
and other places around $150.
and if the job's not that hard, i'd rather do this myself and save myself a fortune.
anyway, if there's anyone who's already doneflushing the tranny fluid, any tips would also be greatly appreciated.