Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   Chrysler 200 & Sebring (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-200-sebring-14/)
-   -   97 JXI Transmission issues " stuck in 2nd " (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-200-sebring-14/97-jxi-transmission-issues-%22-stuck-2nd-%22-4696/)

sexpot69 01-30-2008 01:31 AM

97 JXI Transmission issues " stuck in 2nd "

Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie with transmission issue's [:@]My 97 JXI wich I love by the way and has @155k and still going strong!
Lately,
I will bring it up to operating tempature, and all is well for the first 5 to 10 miles then for some odd reason it shifts in to 2nd gear and wont release out of this gear no matter what you do? :(I wind up having to drive it back home stuck in second gear, does this mean I amgoing to need a new transmission? or could it be a simpler condition that can be repaired with out the expense of a new trans?
Thanks for any advice you may have:eek:
Julia

WYOCHIMNEYSWEEP 01-30-2008 07:24 AM

RE: 97 JXI Transmission issues " stuck in 2nd "

ussually 2nd gear is the fail safe gear. probably something electrical wrong with the trans. good luck. when it acts up take it to a trans shop and see if the trans will communate

moe 01-30-2008 09:24 AM

sound like its going into limp mode,does the check engine light come on?moe

sexpot69 01-30-2008 02:00 PM

The checkengine light is on, A mechanic at the gas station read a code of the 02 sensor malfunctioning, but said he may be reading it incorrectlyand it could also mean something else?[X(]
But to me, actually this little light is kinda confusing[:'(]I thought that a check engine light wassuppose to bea easy way to diagnoise a problem witout the guess work.