Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   Chrysler 200 & Sebring (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-200-sebring-14/)
-   -   NOOB (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-200-sebring-14/noob-209/)

2004LX 04-15-2005 03:21 PM

NOOB

Hi, I just purchased a 2004 Sebring sedan. I've only owned GM vehicles before, but I recently sold my old rusty car and wanted something newer that is reliable and good looking. And I got this car for way less than blue book value. My Sebring has the 2.4L engine. I've been doing some research on it so I can become familiar with it, does anyone have any info on it, common problems, things like that? I'm totally new to this car, and Chyrsler vehicles in general. Any info or good websites to check out would be great! Thanks!

-Pete

BadStratRT 04-15-2005 05:51 PM

RE: NOOB

i workd for a DCX dealership, and i never saw any issues there were regular happenings...the only thing, do you have the aluminum rims? i saw cases where the clearcoating on the wheels began to peel, which they will usually warranty.

2004LX 04-16-2005 02:11 AM

Yes, I have the aluminum rims. Hopefully the clear coating won't chip too soon, it is a fairly new car.

By the way, I notice already that I have a tapping noise when idling. It definitely is not a knock, but it seems to me that it is louder than it should be for an engine with only 19,500 miles. The idle holds steady rpms, everything else is fine, it drives perfectly fine, but it makes a light tapping noise....what is this caused by? I know other cars I have had had a similar 'lifter tap' that was just normal....please tell me this is just normal...because even though I have a warranty, I don't want any problems, especially days after I bought this car.

Thanks for the help.

BadStratRT 04-16-2005 07:10 PM