Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Stalling and bad MPG

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2018, 09:54 AM
Default Stalling and bad MPG

Hello, newbie here, I have a 1998 Sebring Coupe LXi (son's car), and it is kicking my rear end. Two problems that persist are stalling when it comes up to temp, especially when turning right, and excessive fuel consumption. The only codes thrown are the lean condition on Bank 1 and 2. I've already done some swapnostics, MAP, TPS, CPS, checked for vacuum leaks, and frayed wires grounding out. The vehicle does have an exhaust leak downstream of the front O2 sensors. This thing is a beater with a heater, looks like the previous owner used after market upstream O2 sensors (ones without electrical connectors). Car ran excellent for almost a year before these issues started occurring.

Is it possible that O2 sensors pass vehicle diagnostics at start-up, but then fail once the car comes up to temp and starts using sensor inputs? Another thought from searching every Chrysler/Dodge forum, is the fuel pump not performing once it gets hot.....but it is definitely pumping out the fuel as I'm not getting 100 miles out of a tank of fuel and no, I have not done a fuel pressure check. Next steps? Thanks

Old 07-21-2018, 10:32 AM