Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8 The flagship of the Chrysler lineup offers the driver every bit of class of any European luxury sedan, combined with the availability of the Hemi, the engine which dominated the American Muscle Car Era

OMG this thing is Possessed!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 01:10 PM
Angry OMG this thing is Possessed!!!!!

Hello Everyone,

I'm so frustrated and at my WITS end with my 2005 Chrysler 300 2.7 Mean Vanilla. My wife drives this car mainly, it has over 260k miles on it and this summer she was driving when suddenly she heard a loud pop and saw smoke. She pulled over and all the coolant had leaked out of the reservoir and onto the ground. I went to go and check on her, she was in Wal-Mart parking lot, we go and get coolant and drive the car home. I look for any noticeable issues and see nothing standing out (I'm not a mechanic). I notice the top thermostat housing (little thing with a metal nozzle hole up top has a hole in the side of it). I go to O'Reilys and replaced the part myself for about 35 bucks. The car drives fine with no problems on the test drive. The next day my wife drives the car to work with no problems in the morning however on her way home she gets about halfway there (5 miles) and the car is running hot again so she pulls over and lets it cool. She noticed again the coolant is gone, but this time it is leaking on her feet in the floorboard of the car. We take it to the Meineke and the diagnoses were heater core and need to be replaced, we obliged $850 later: :crying::. We get the car back and noticed again still running hot, back to the mechanic we go and he says ok you know it looks like the heater core hoses need to be replaced, so he does. Two days, Boom again running hot and losing coolant, this time I noticed a new issue the red lighting bolt is displaying on the dash with the check engine light, once the red lighting bolt comes on the car drops all the way down to 20 mph with it being the fastest it can g