Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-voyager-town-country-21/)
-   -   1996 computer question (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-voyager-town-country-21/1996-computer-question-17126/)

steppjohn 03-19-2012 10:44 PM

1996 computer question

Hi,

I am new to these minivans.
I have a 1966 T&C, and I have noticed that the ECU computer has been changed in the past. (Has used part markings on it.)

I am considering getting an spare computer before I start out on a summer trip. (I know that in GM cars you have to be sure the correct "PROM" is installed in ECU/ECM computers you swap into your car. Typically, you just take the PROM out of your old unit and install in the new unit. That make it work properly in your car.)

My question is this.

Is there anything like this involved with Chrysler ECU's?
What do I have to look for, as I seek a proper spare computer?

Thanks John

Raptor 07 03-20-2012 03:25 AM

No. No PROM to swap.
This is one of many sources. Just send the vin# of your van to them and they will send you a fully programed Powertrain Control Module (PCM). Just install and you're done.

http://autocomputerexchange.net/

steppjohn 03-21-2012 08:06 AM

Raptor,

My thoughts on getting a spare computer was to go to my u pull it place and find one just like the one I have in it (a # 4727178) for 20 or 30 bucks or so.

(((My research finds that this is the one for my vehicle. ex from an ebay list

ECM/ECU FITS
CARAVAN 96 Elec Cont Unit (ECU); (left fender), 6-230 (3.8L), FWD, from 11/2/95
TOWN & COUNTRY 96 Elec Cont Unit (ECU); (left fender), 6-230 (3.8L), FWD, from 11/2/95
VOYAGER 96 Elec Cont Unit (ECU); (left fender), 6-230 (3.8L), FWD, from 11/2/95
ECM/ECU SPECIFICATIONS Ident: 4727178
Ident: R4748221
SMEC (Single Module Engine Cont).