Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-voyager-town-country-21/)
-   -   Any common faults on a 98? (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/chrysler-voyager-town-country-21/any-common-faults-98-a-1569/)

allan1010 06-06-2006 04:44 PM

Any common faults on a 98?

Hi guys, first posting here but I'm a regular on the F*rd trucks site :)
Before I start, we're in the UK so I don't know if there are many (or any) spec. differences between UK and US models.
Anyway, we're taking a serious look at a Voyager for our daily driver. The one that catches our eye particularly is a 98 model.
I'm a truck driver so I know enough to know when a car is "straight" and I have excellent "seat of the pants" feel for noises, rumbles, vibrations etc that shouldn't be there.
This particular vehicle is a '98, 3.3 V6 with auto transmission. 2 owners from new, 78,000 miles and starts & runs flawlessly and rides like a luxury car should.

Are there any common or potential problems I should look out for? I'm thinking of stuff like Ford's famous 4.0 SOHC timing chain problem or 5 speed auto trans problem both of which are preventable with scrupulous maintenance and fluid changes (these can turn one badly maintained 70,000 mile explorer to junk whilst another similar car which has been looked after properly is at 200,000 miles and still in perfect shape).

Just anything you can think of that I should be wary of or check double-carefully before we buy would be great.
Thanks.

webbee 06-07-2006 12:02 AM

RE: Any common faults on a 98?