Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/general-tech-11/)
-   -   '93 Voyager 2.5L belt noise (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/general-tech-11/93-voyager-2-5l-belt-noise-4082/)

5 string Mike 11-01-2007 05:49 PM

'93 Voyager 2.5L belt noise

Hi all,

First off, I am new to the Forum, I haven't made it to the New Member page yet, sorry.

I also tried the Search feature, to no avail.

I just bought a 93 Voyager with the 2.5 last week. It's a nice van, great condition, below average miles. It has a very annoying belt squeak, belts were recently replaced. I have been a Ford and International tech in a past life, but not much on Chryslers. I have heard 2.5s had an issue with the alt/ WP belt, and I have tightened them all as much as I dare go. The WP pulley is worn to the point of having a small groove on it, I plan to replace that. Is there any other Ancient Chinese Secrets to these belt squeaks?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Mike

moe 11-02-2007 02:46 PM

RE: '93 Voyager 2.5L belt noise

hey mike heres an old tsb from chrysler.might be helpful.let me know..moe!!
NO: 07-02-93 Rev. A
SUBJECT: Alternator Belt Noise Caused By Pulley Misalignment-Alignment - Vehicles Equipped With 2.2L/2.5L Engine.
DATE: Sep. 10, 1993
NOTE: THIS BULLETIN SUPERSEDES TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN 07-02-93. WHICH SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM YOUR FILES. REVISIONS ARE PRINTED IN RED AND HIGHLIGHTED WITH **ASTERISKS**.
SYMPTOM/CONDITION:
A chirping or snapping noise being generated near the front of the engine while the engine is running.
The alternator drive belt is missing or has "walked partially off the pulley".
The snapping noise sounds similar to a bad alternator bearing or electrical arcing. The noise and belt "walking" may be caused by alternator pulley misalignment-alignment, and is not a bad alternator.
DIAGNOSIS: