Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/)
-   Other (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/other-23/)
-   -   Fifth Avenue 1991 security alarm module trouble... (https://www.chryslerforum.com/forum/other-23/fifth-avenue-1991-security-alarm-module-trouble-30377/)

turbokinetic 01-27-2019 08:15 AM

Fifth Avenue 1991 security alarm module trouble...

Hi, I'm a new member here who is looking for some advice to help a friend who does not use the computer. I've done a lot of work with the 80's and 90's General Motors cars, including in-depth electronics work. So while I am new to Chrysler, I'm not new to older auto electronics work. I hope to be able to see the car in-person in a few days, but want to get some ideas ahead of time; hence I am here requesting some info. In my searching, some general info has come up, but I haven't seen anyone confirm that they have solved a problem similar to mine.

The car in question is a 1991 Fifth Avenue with the 3.3L engine. My friend got the car in a non-running condition. I can't remember what was wrong with it, but it had sat for a long period of time. He got it running and all was well for a few months. Now, it has stopped running. He had a local shop look at it, and they said the antitheft system was preventing the car from starting. Whatever they did resolved the issue temporarily, however the car has done the same thing again now and the shop has been unable to get it started.

In reading online, it seems that the antitheft system uses switch contact inputs to tell it when the key is turned to the LOCK or UNLOCK position in the door lock cylinders. This is the arming and disarming mechanism. I am wondering if that circuit could be intermittent and causing this problem. In reading online, it seems that it's possible to get this system "hard locked" so that a certain command must be issued via the vehicle's diagnostic link to reset it.