300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker Discuss the Chrysler LH platform cars within.

1998 Chrysler Concorde Starter problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2009, 03:45 PM
Default 1998 Chrysler Concorde Starter problems

I have to replace the starter in my car. I am a backyard mechanic with limited experience with my new car... Not only is everything packed in like sardines in a can but I cant find a diagram to even begin to know where to start!

Old 06-14-2009, 08:24 AM
Default Easy...

The first thing is get a repair manual for your car..the starter is pretty easy to replace. The bad part is you'll have to work under the car (use jack stands) and it's fairly tight space to work in. Disconnect the Neg. Battery terminal, remove the cables from the starter, remove the 3 bolts from the starter.replace in reverse..have fun..

Old 08-24-2010, 12:14 PM
Default 99 Concorde 3.2 Starter Change

I recently changed out the starter on my 1999 Concorde LXI 3.2 engine and had a heck of a time doing it. The Haynes manual said on some motors you might have to remove the motor mount bracket to engine bolts and raise the engine a little to be able to get the starter rolled for access to the electrical connections.

After two calls to a mechanic friend, I ended up removing the motor mount bracket, the motor mount and oil filter to gain access to be able to get the nose cone out of the flywheel casing. (Old wires are too short and stiff to move starter far enough out to get nose cone out of the flywheel casing).

If I had to do it again, I would:
1. Remove the negative ground cable on top of the engine compartment
2. jack up and support the front of car on jack stands
3. With a block of wood and jack, support the engine at the left front of oil pan (to raise the engine after bracket bolts are removed)
4. Remove the oil filter (to allow bracket removal)
5. Remove the 3 motor mount bracket to engine bolts and raise engine enough to allow bracket to come off top of studs in next step.