300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker Discuss the Chrysler LH platform cars within.

Chrysler 300M Year 2000 Engine shuts down while the car is in motion/also at warm up

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 03:47 PM
Default Chrysler 300M Year 2000 Engine shuts down while the car is in motion/also at warm up

I have been driving a Chrysler 300M (2000 model) for the past 5 years.

Since November 2013:

1) The car has been randomly shutting down while I'm driving. The stalling happens at any speed and in a sudden instant without any warning.

2) The Engine has also stalled (on numerous occasions) during initial warm up of the car with engine idling and gear in park state.

3) During stalling the Check Engine light chimes, appears for a second and then disappears.

4) When the car is in motion at speeds above 30km/hr, if the car engine stalls, then the car restarts while still moving and in gear, kinda like a jumpstart.

5) When the car is in low speed motion, the engine stalls in totality.
Car comes to a stop. In this case, I immediately shift to neutral gear, and use whatever momentum is available to pull to the side of the road.
Then I restart the car and in all cases so far, the car has started back and I have driven it without a stalling happening for at least another 20 minutes.

6) The Chrysler workshop hasn't been able to find the problem, nor have they been successful in fixing the issue. Have left the car for more than 4 weeks. Have been to the workshop 3 times since nov 2013. All computerized obd based checkups fail to reveal the trouble codes..

Have attempted many parts replacements at no positive outcome. The list of failed fixes are:

a) Changed the camshaft sensor
b) Changed the crankshaft sensor
c) Changed the timing belt
d) Flushed and changed the transmission oil and filter
e) Flushed and changed the engine oil and filter
f) Flushed and changed the coolant
g) Got the fuel pump and fuel filter cleaned (Fuel pressure test returned a
normal reading)