300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker Discuss the Chrysler LH platform cars within.

Radio, dome lights and power locks wont work after jump start.

  #1  
Old 03-31-2018, 08:39 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: North carolina
Posts: 5
Default Radio, dome lights and power locks wont work after jump start.

Hey guys, my name is Rob.

My girlfriend has a 1999 chrysler concorde with the 3.2 SOHC

a friend of ours helped jump it recently and the battery cables were put on backwards..

the car wasnt cranked. In fact, the cables were pulled off almost immediately upon realization.

the dome lights in the car and the power door locks dont work, the radio wont power on and the light up strip (PRND3L) Next to the shifter doesnt light up either.

i checked the fuse in the back of the head unit. Its aftermarket.. that one is fine.

and all of the fuses in the fuse box are fine.

any suggestions?


on a side note..

for the past 7-8 months the heat will turn on in the car and doesnt turn off.

even if the display is turned off, the blower will activate and shoot hot air randomly.
 
  #2  
Old 04-01-2018, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 272
Default

Try leaving the battery disconnected for a little while. It sounds like part of the computer got scrambled.
Resetting it by disconnecting it, might help, if the BCM is not outright fried.
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-2018, 12:04 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: North carolina
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by BiliTheAxe View Post
Try leaving the battery disconnected for a little while. It sounds like part of the computer got scrambled.
Resetting it by disconnecting it, might help, if the BCM is not outright fried.
ill try that this morning. Thank you.

is there anything else i could look for not working properly that would point to the body control module being toasted?
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-2018, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 272
Default

Did you check both fuse boxes?
There is one under the hood, and another inside the car.
 
  #5  
Old 04-01-2018, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 272
Default

This tells you what the BCM does.
https://www.allpar.com/model/lh2/conc_electric.html
 
  #6  
Old 04-01-2018, 06:22 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: North carolina
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by BiliTheAxe View Post
Did you check both fuse boxes?
There is one under the hood, and another inside the car.

so ive checked both fuse boxes and there are no blown fuses, is there a way i could find out if its my BCM for sure?

and is replacing a BCM as simple as it seems? Someone told me i need to have a mechanic do ot because it requires some form of programming or something.
 
  #7  
Old 04-01-2018, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 272
Default

When I replaced the computer in my Intrepid, I had to give them my vin number and they programmed it for my car.
You just want to be gentle with the plugs connecting to the computer.
I got the replacement for that off of ebay, and it cost me a third of what everyone else is asking.
It still works fine too, and it has been 4 years.
 
  #8  
Old 04-01-2018, 11:53 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: North carolina
Posts: 5
Default

[QUOTE=BiliTheAxe;105115]When I replaced the computer in my Intrepid, I had to give them my vin number and they programmed it for my car.
You just want to be gentle with the plugs connecting to the computer.
I got the replacement for that off of ebay, and it cost me a third of what everyone else is asking.
It still works fine too, and it has been 4 years.[/QUITE]



did you have to give your vin number to the person you bought it from on ebay?
 
  #9  
Old 04-02-2018, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 272
Default

Yes. the ebay vendor. I gave them my vin, and they programmed the computer for my vehicle.
 
  #10  
Old 04-02-2018, 12:59 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: North carolina
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by BiliTheAxe View Post
Yes. the ebay vendor. I gave them my vin, and they programmed the computer for my vehicle.

Okay, ill look into ebay.

also, something i forgot to mention.
everytime i start the car the horn sounds just as i turn the key into accessory

dont know of thats of any help either
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio, dome lights and power locks wont work after jump start.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.