Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

Android headunit for the cars

  #1  
Old 01-15-2018, 01:25 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Default Android headunit for the cars

Nowadays, as the android systerm becomes more sophisticated, most of the car companies install it in the car head unit.But before that there're a number of cars didn't install the android when they rolled off the assembly line.So car owners would like to replace their factory head unit with a new android head unit.

Many of them get excited about DIY, they may browse some professional websites ,buy the head unit from ebay or amazon, then start to install. I M also one of them.Last year I buyed an Android 7 system for my car, now it works well, and I can use many new features.


When U install the new android head unit, some issues are unavoidable. In my view, don’t hesitate to consult your dealer, communicate with someone experienced or seek help from a professional. If you still think it hard for you to install the new head unit by yourself, you’d better straightly go to a upgrade center to ask a technician to help you.
 

Last edited by Mason_geek; 01-17-2018 at 01:59 AM.
  #2  
Old 04-22-2018, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 271
Default

I've looked through the Seicane selection of Android head units that you refer in that link, and they were generally over priced and under powered for the version of android that they are running..
Also, when I did a google search on them, the reviews were horrible. Lots of complaints about, quality, customer service, and many reports from people of them ignoring messages when requests for refunds were submitted for hardware that was not working correctly, or at all.
Definitely, not a company that you want to deal with.

This is just one of the many bad reviews they have, and it raises all of the red flags that you do not want to see.

purchased an Android radio system with DAB+ for Mercedes GL.
The included DAB+ USB adapter is not detected by the radio.
I have now tested with a total of 10 DAB+ USB adapters (that works on other Android radio systems), and the Seicane system will not detect it.
I have now spent the last 10 months sending warranty claims to [email protected] and [email protected].
They are answering after some time, but there are answers like: "Try another DAB+ USB adapter, please read the user manual."

And this are the repeating answers.
It seems like they are doing their best to wear out the customers to avoid any warranty claims.
I paied US$ 755 for this system, but its natural destination is the trash bin.

I have purchased other Android systems from other shops in China, and these systems are working perfect.
The Seicane system ****.
Stay away from this scam company. "
I just installed a 9 inch Android in my 2007 Chrysler 300C.

Sound quality can be hit or miss with android head units. (Do not buy the cheapest you can find)
Most sound fine, but some are better than others. Only the the higher end ones generally have the higher quality chips in their amplifiers.
The cheap ones may look exactly like the better ones, but that is an illusion. The internals are usually different.

Don't get me wrong, I am hooked on Android head units, because they can do so much more than a normal stereo could do, and even Chrysler is now offering an Android headunit from the factory. I think Alpine makes their Android headunit.
Names like Kenwood, Pioneer and JVC have also jumped on using Android for an operating system, but they as yet rarely support the use of bluetooth OBD2 adapters, and generally want you to use your phones GPS for finding your way around.
The Android units found all over ebay and amazon almost always support both GPS and OBD2 adapters.

Any external drive you use, should be as fast as you can get, and not insanely large, because the drive can adversely effect boot time, also, do not get a head unit that is under powered for the version of Android it is running. Anything with android 5 and up needs more than 1 gig of ram, or it will be slow.
I had a 240gb SSD in my Intrepid and it worked well, but hooking up a 1 tB drive made it take to long to boot.

The one I just bought has 32 gb's of storage and 2 gb's of ram on android 7.1
It will display open doors on the screen.
It also worked with my cobra iradar radar detector and shows info about what type of radar was detected.
It supports streaming music, and DAB plus
It supports USB flash drives, and hard drives, including SSD drives. I currently have an intel 180gb Gen3 SSD drive on mine, and it loads and plays music from it in 35 seconds from turning the key.
NO USB HUB NEEDED FOR CONNECTING THE SSD!! Unlike previous android head units, this one runs SSD drives without the need of a USB hub.

Oh, very important.
DISCONNECT THE BATTERY WHEN INSTALLING!!
If you do not disconnect the battery, the cars computer will not recognize the head unit, and your factory amp will not work, until you have disconnected the battery for a few minutes.
I have the 8 speaker (7 speakers plus 1 sub) 368 watt amp Boston Acoustic system.
Everything works fine, except no uconnect, and the station info will no longer be displayed correctly on the evic.
It came with the adapter to connect it to the can-bus system, so it is plug and play.
Also, the steering wheel controls work.
This is what I bought for my 300C
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/QZ-industrial-9-HD-Android-7-1-T8-2G-32G-for-Chrysler-300C-2000-2014-Car/32853731324.html?spm=2114.search0104.3.216.13cb74e 6rKopU6&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_3_ 10152_10065_10151_10344_10068_10130_10324_10342_10 547_10325_10343_10546_10340_10548_10341_10545_1008 4_10083_10618_10307_5711215_10313_10059_10534_1000 31_10103_10627_10626_10624_10623_10622_5711315_106 21_10620_10810_10811_5722415,searchweb201603_37,pp cSwitch_5&algo_expid=1656c1e2-9f76-4451-9f99-3458ee7fe3d5-33&algo_pvid=1656c1e2-9f76-4451-9f99-3458ee7fe3d5&transAbTest=ae803_5&priceBeautifyAB=0
The vendor was very quick to respond to questions I had, also.

This is the one I installed in my 2007 Chrysler 300C
It has 2gb's of ram. Do not waste your money on the units that have only 1 gb. Android 4 works fine with 1gb of ram, but later versions need more ram.
It also has 32 gb's of internal storage.
It came with the bezel for the Chrysler 300 and the can-bus adapter, so it was plug and play.
I have to say that this is the best android head unit that I have ever owned.
http://i1291.photobucket.com/albums/...psg7eleile.jpg
 

Last edited by BiliTheAxe; 05-21-2018 at 12:23 AM.
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
darkcild101
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
4
04-19-2016 01:28 PM
Softlas
Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8
0
01-28-2016 02:00 AM
Chrysler Forum Editor
Brand News, Concepts & Rumors
0
01-04-2016 01:48 PM
Chrysler Forum Editor
Brand News, Concepts & Rumors
0
06-25-2014 05:08 PM
AxerJk
New Member Area
0
06-29-2011 09:42 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Android headunit for the cars


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.