Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Hi all, newbee here w 2002 sebring crank but no start issue.

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2012, 10:06 PM
Default Hi all, newbee here w 2002 sebring crank but no start issue.

Sorry for the long posting, I.m a mechanic by trade altho not for Chrysler. Recently I was approached by a family member with a 2002 Sebring convertible w the 2.7 v6 that was not running and had milkshake for oil, to do a favor n help him out, after some troubleshooting I determined the water pump was shot. Replaced the wtr pump which in fact had a broken bearing, installed new primary chain, tensioner, guides, crank and cam gears, removed oil pan and cleaned up engine nicely. Assembled all and the problem is I cant get it started, the car didnt start when it came in before the work either, cranks fine, the compression is about 175 psi on every cyl. and the plugs are new. I know it gets fuel because I hear the pump working and because the plugs get drenched w raw fuel, I know the timing is right on the notch, every golden link was in the cntr of the 3 marks. Removed 1 of the coils and inserted a spark plug, grounded it and noticed the spark is extremely weak, small red spark bearely visible. replaced all 6 coils, no help, also replaced the cam sensor twice. Havent tried the crank sensor yet, thats next weekend project, what commands the coils?? has anyone come across this problem or have any thought of what would cause a weak spark and can point me in the right direction I'll forever appreciate it.
Thanks a bunch!

Old 11-14-2012, 10:14 PM

OOhh, yeah, sorry. hooked up OBD II there're no codes stored

Old 11-14-2012, 10:52 PM