Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Lettering on the back of my Sebring are starting to fade.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2009, 06:02 PM
Default Lettering on the back of my Sebring are starting to fade.

I just bought myself a 2004 Chrysler Sebring LXi and I am loving it! The only problem so far is that the raised lettering on the back that say "Sebring" amd "LXi" are beginning to fade.

Has anyone else had this problem? If so, what have you done to fix it? I was thinking about re-painting the lettering, but it would take a while to tape off the area around the letters in order to re-paint.
The other option would be to remove the letters and paint them, but how do I remove them without damaging the paint on the car? How would I re-seal the letters to the car?
I am new at this, it's my first car and I don't want to do anything wrong.
Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Matthew Hayhurst

Old 05-02-2009, 11:54 AM

The letters are plastic and glued on with an integral foam/rubber/adhesive. I sliced them off with a razor blade, careful not to damage me or the car, leaving some rubber. Then a pressure washer took off most of the remaining foam/rubber stuff. You'll always be able to see where they were unless the car is buffed out or sanded & painted. Which is what I plan to do. I took the letters off because they are incredibly hard to mask, and will build up a thick layer of paint on the edges which will crack and peel later.

Get some water based paint, like for pinstriping, and touch them up with a brush. Any stray paint can be wiped off (before it dries) and should last years before you have to do it again.

Old 05-02-2009, 07:42 PM

Originally Posted by dodger