Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Sebring - Why so cheap?

Old 08-26-2015, 12:12 PM
Default Sebring - Why so cheap?

I'll start with honesty - I've always been a Ford man, for 40 years. However, now my wife wants a convertible, and she doesn't like Mustangs. She loves the Sebring.

I'm definitely keeping an open mind, but I've heard nothing but negative input about these cars in my circles. When I go to craigslist to check out a few, I find dozens of cars 2006 and older for dirt cheap. Like, < $3k for a 2006 that 'runs perfectly'.

I figured I'd ask the folks who love their cars. Why are the Sebrings so cheap? Do they deserve the bad rep I hear? Can I get one and love it and depend on it without it being a money pit? (As I said, I'm not a hater, just want straight up honesty.)

I'm an accomplished home mechanic - from brakes to engine rebuilds to transmission swaps, I've done it all. So, I'm certainly not afraid to give my cars the TLC they need. So, are there any well known issues or indicators I should look for specifically as I begin to familiarize myself with and kick the tires on these cars? Are there any annoying 'special tools' needed for common jobs, etc? Just looking for some good feedback.

Many thanks, and hope to be joining the conversation soon with my new Sebring convertible.

Old 08-26-2015, 01:59 PM