Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

trans not shifting

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2008, 04:22 PM
Default trans not shifting

Hello I have a 99 sebring convert that just stopped shifting today. I was wondering if it could be the trans module or the shiftpacks . It is throwing gear codes and 0700 code. I am fairly handy and just need to be pointed in the right direction. Thanks Scott.

Old 10-30-2008, 12:14 AM
Default RE: trans not shifting

Hey sorry to hear you're having transmission troubles,

While they are totally diffrent cars i owned a 95 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE which had a set of swtiches which i assume are the ones you've mentioned first, when those went my car would shift as if the tranny was shot, has those replaced and good as new, however if this isn't the case start looking for a TCM or worse case scenerio a new trans.

Hope this helps, as i am no mechanic but have always owned chrysler

Adam
Loyal to the star
1999 Chrysler Sebring convertibel
2.5 L V6

Old 11-03-2008, 09:27 AM

The first step in the right direction in determining the problem would be to check for any stored codes. Goto Atuozone or somewhere and have them check for any. Then post back so at least we know if any problems were detected.

Old 11-04-2008, 03:22 PM

I have checked the codes myself and the trans mission trouble codes are coming up. Along with some first, second and third rev codes. I have tried another tcm and it made no differance. I have also changed the filter and fluid. Still I have the problem. When it is cold it will do a couple of jerky shifts. Once it warms up it will not shift. I read some where on here that it could be the shift cylanoids. I wonder if I should change them next. Thanks Scott.

Old 11-05-2008, 10:25 AM