Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 T&C - 2 year battle with dead gauges

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2012, 10:25 PM
Default 96 T&C - 2 year battle with dead gauges

1996 Town and Country LXI with VTSS alarm system.

I bought my van from an owner who gave up trying to get the gauges to work reliably even after replacing the BCM. I studied the forums and found the cluster soldering repair, which fixed things for about 9 months. The gauges started failing again so I did the usual fixes like battery disconnects, and IOD fuse pulls, but that only fixed things for awhile. I bought another cluster from a junkyard, and soldered it, and that also worked for awhile, but not always.

Now things are worse. The gauges are dead and none of the tricks are working. The CCD bus voltage is only 0.5 volts on both sides, instead of my usual 2.1 volts (I don't seem to get the proper 2.5 volts). I have tried all sorts of things like replacing door switches for the VTSS, and I even pulled the BCM and sent it away to have it checked and repaired, but that was an expensive disappointment, since nothing improved when I got it back.

I have been disconnecting modules and noting ccd bus voltages. If I pull the BCM the voltage goes up to 1.5 (dancing), and if I pull the PCM or CAB the voltages might vary 0.25 volts, but I can't get up to the 2 volt level where the gauges would light back up. Does anyone have any oddball fixes that worked for them? I've got to try something. Thanks.

Old 08-05-2012, 11:51 PM

Disconnect the overhead console.

Old 08-06-2012, 10:02 AM