Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

auto trans ecm / ecu replacement

  #1  
Old 08-25-2010, 02:24 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nr chelmsford essex uk
Posts: 14
Default auto trans ecm / ecu replacement

Hi Can anybody tell me if its possible to simply unplug the ecu (ecm) from the gearbox and plug in another from a different voyager (but still same engine type etc) . My problem is that my car got hit from the near side which squashed the wing and smashed the controller (ecu/ecm) and I can get a replacement from the salvage yards at a resonable price but want to know if its a simple swap or if it needs setting up etc . Any advice would be much appreciated . The car is a 2001 (newer shape) chrysler grand voyager 3.3 ltd , uk supplied .
Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 08-25-2010, 01:21 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

On the Trans controller? Yes I believe you can. There is a process they do with a scan tool called "quick learn" to set your clutch volumes and "pinion factor" where the correct tire size needs to be programmed in. If the junker has the same tire size you should be OK. If it shifts a little funny at first don't worry too much.
 

Last edited by TNtech; 08-25-2010 at 01:24 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-18-2010, 03:11 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nr chelmsford essex uk
Posts: 14
Default

Hi TNtech , Thanks for the advice , Its still is the paint shop so I will find out if it works soon enought . They fitted the ecm and everything appears ok but the gear indicator lights on the dash that show which gear you are in are all lit up at once , is there something I need to get reset ?
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-2010, 12:49 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Originally Posted by glensouk View Post
Hi TNtech , Thanks for the advice , Its still is the paint shop so I will find out if it works soon enought . They fitted the ecm and everything appears ok but the gear indicator lights on the dash that show which gear you are in are all lit up at once , is there something I need to get reset ?
Sounds like it isn't plugged in all the way. Or the range switch isn't plugged in.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-2010, 09:38 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nr chelmsford essex uk
Posts: 14
Default

Hi TNtech
I have spoken with another trans specialist and they concur with you that it should have righted itself once the new ecu was plugged in . I will have it back on the road next week once its had its identity check done and I will run it over to the transmission garage so they can plug it in and diagnose it properly . I did check that it was plugged in fully but was not sure what you mean't by the range finder and where would I find this?, thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-2010, 01:46 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nr chelmsford essex uk
Posts: 14
Default

Hi TNtech
I now have the car back on the road , the mil light is still on and I have had the code read P1698 (trans not recieving signal from ecu) . I unpluged the trans ecu and the result was dramatic (no gearchanges and a top speed of about 40mph), so the ecu is sending most of the info and the car drives very well (just no kickdown).Could you tell me if the range switch you mentioned before is a separate item and if so where it may be found .I'm almost resolved to just driving it as it is as I'm only going to keep it another couple of years , one annoying feature of the trans not showing what gear its in is that the elec doors will only open when the ign key is removed (a safety feature to stop you opening the doors with the car in gear )as the doors don't know it the car is neutral or park because the dash display is still lighting all of the gear positions instead of the one you are in . Thanks Glen.
 
  #7  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:33 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Range switch is inside the trans mounted on top of the valve body. It's made mostly of plastic and can sometimes break inside. The connector is the rectangle one that DOESN'T have the 8mm screw in it. That one is the solenoid pack.
 
  #8  
Old 11-09-2010, 04:03 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nr chelmsford essex uk
Posts: 14
Default

Hi TNtech
Is this a transmission out kind of job or is there an access panel ? Thanks Glen.
 
  #9  
Old 11-10-2010, 08:27 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Valve body is inside the lower trans pan. In the car job.
 
  #10  
Old 11-18-2010, 07:22 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nr chelmsford essex uk
Posts: 14
Default

Hi Tntech
I have another question for you , I looked a little deeper in the P1698 code and its exact definition is "No CCD Messages Received From The TCM" . The CCD means Chrysler Collision Detection and the TCM is transmission control module . Do you know if there is a component that is the CCD or is it a program in the TCM . Thanks Glen.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: auto trans ecm / ecu replacement


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.