Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Changing the battery WITHOUT losing radio code.

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2013, 06:24 AM
Default Changing the battery WITHOUT losing radio code.

I'm a "newbie" here, with a 2006 Grand Voyager 2.8ltr. diesel, 109,000mile on the clock, which I acquired a few days ago because of its size. I had to trade in my 2006 diesel S-type Jag. because it got expensive to fix.

I'm a retired ex-electronics engineer with analog and digital experience, so I may be able to help in some cases. I've owned, fixed and sworn at over 100 cars in my time. Of course, batteries are stock in trade to me, whether lead-acid, nickel-cadmium, NIFE, lithium-ion, etc.

Reading this and other websites shows that Grand Voyager batteries can be a pain, not just because they keep going flat, but because one loses the radio code if the battery is disconnected to replace it.

To NOT lose the radio code when changing your battery, you need to keep the 12volt rail at 12volts while you disconnect the main battery. For this you need a spare well charged battery and a pair of jump-leads. The negative jump-lead from the spare battery is clipped to a nice clean metal part of the engine, I used the fat post under a bolt hole for the plastic engine cover. The positive red lead from the spare battery is clipped to the large alternator charging terminal. But before clipping the positive on, check with a voltmeter or test-lamp that + 12volts exists on both the clip and the alternator terminal. I.e., the two have no voltage difference.