Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

HELP! Frustrated Town and Country owner.

  #1  
Old 05-14-2012, 07:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default HELP! Frustrated Town and Country owner.

I have a Chyrsler Town and Country 2004 3.3 engine. I just replaced lifters, rebuilt heads, good used cam shaft, timing chain, timing gears, head gaskets, etc. I am 99.9% sure I got the timing marks lined up correctly- pointed the arrows to each other and matched the two colored links with the marks. After putting all back together it is giving me a p0340 code- cam sensor. Think the cam sensor is bad? Or could I have screwed up the timing? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-14-2012, 09:35 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,115
Default

timing gears, used ones? u could have put a wrong set on there
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-2012, 10:02 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Did you reposition the cam sensor after you put the timing cover back on? As in...set the air gap with the little wafer spacer?
 
  #4  
Old 05-15-2012, 06:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default

The gears are new from Napa- should be right. Air gap? Please explain. I didn't set anything with the cam sensor.
 
  #5  
Old 05-15-2012, 09:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default

I checked out online about the air gap. I ran to autozone and got a new cam sensor to try and no difference in running but got a p0344 code. It does idle well, but when you rev it up it pulsates. Almost has to be a misalligned timing chain? Right? Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 05-15-2012, 09:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Also the camshaft I used was from a 2004 Dodge caravan 3.3- they said it is the same and would work- True?
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-2012, 10:27 AM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Same engine, yes. The cam sensor has to have a little stick-on wafer on the bottom so there is an air gap. If you just plop in in there, it will rest right on the cam sprocket and will make contact, also will throw a code.
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-2012, 10:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Thanks. The new cam sensor had the felt spacer included and I still got the code and poor running. Has to be misalligned chain- it looks like!
 
  #9  
Old 05-15-2012, 11:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default

and sometimes it gives me a p0016 code?
 
  #10  
Old 05-15-2012, 07:24 PM
TNtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,234
Default

Originally Posted by stmiller96 View Post
a p0016 code?
There's a good chance that's going to be a cracked flexplate. You can double check the timing marks if you want. Only way I could tell for sure is if I knew for sure the marks were dead on, and also if I could see the cam/crank difference in the scan tool data.

Did you also have the P0016 BEFORE you did the timing chain and gears??
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: HELP! Frustrated Town and Country owner.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.