Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Power Sliding Door and locking problems

Old 11-11-2010, 05:09 AM
Default Power Sliding Door and locking problems

Hi all. I am a newbie to the Chrysler scene and have myself a 04 Grand Voyager Limited XS CRD.
Have been really thrilled with it, but for a couple of weird problems that have occurred recently.

It started with a flat battery. Charged it up, but it went flat after a week of using the power doors / rear hatch etc in normal use.
In this time, the central locking was a bit odd. It would lock out the passengered when I started the car, seemingly when the battery was soon to die. (Also the dials would go right round the clock and drift back)

Discover it is a Optima battery, so replaced this.

No sooner have I done this and the passenger power door only pops when I use the remote or internal buttons. If I slide the door back and try the button to close it, it just locks the door instead with no attempt to close the door. - It does still soft close.

I'm also still getting the odd central locking ****le or drivers door that starts to close, then for no reason I can see, decides to open again.

Search high and low on this forum, but can't really see an avenue to start with. Please can anyone help? This is not covered on the warranty I was given, so would like to go to a garage with knowledge or attemt a DIY fix.

Many thanks (sorry for the long post)

Phil

Old 11-11-2010, 05:12 AM

Sorry, forgot to add that I have tried disconnecting the battery for 20 mins with no difference.
Also the VIN plate shows a 5Y5 which as the 8th digit is a 5 I understand this is a 2005 model? (Not sure how as it was 1st registered in 2004).

Thanks.

Old 11-11-2010, 01:24 PM

Hi
Is the driver door stiff to close? could be cable or motor tight. Passenger door look for a broken wire in the wire track, normally the black wire.

Old 11-12-2010, 03:08 AM