General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

DIY PCM Flashing

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2023, 12:05 PM
Default DIY PCM Flashing

I am new to the electronic side of Mopar vehicles. I have an 06 PT Cruiser with a bad PCM. I would like to get a bone yard PCM and flash the VIN, mileage and SKIM codes to the replacement PCM. I see there are services that do this but I would rather DIY so I know what I am getting and actually learn something. My question is, what are the software packages and tools for doing this DIY. With GM, Toyota and BMW there is a ton of information available on this topic, as well as hardware. It seems to be rather elusive for Mopar vehicles or I am not looking in the correct place. Can someone point me in the right direction.

I have seen devices like CarDAQ, but I am more used to using a PC and software to interface over the ODBII. What are the backyard mechanics, modders and tuners using these days for this?

Old 10-03-2023, 03:39 PM

Originally Posted by ngen33r
I am new to the electronic side of Mopar vehicles. I have an 06 PT Cruiser with a bad PCM. I would like to get a bone yard PCM and flash the VIN, mileage and SKIM codes to the replacement PCM. I see there are services that do this but I would rather DIY so I know what I am getting and actually learn something. My question is, what are the software packages and tools for doing this DIY. With GM, Toyota and BMW there is a ton of information available on this topic, as well as hardware. It seems to be rather elusive for Mopar vehicles or I am not looking in the correct place. Can someone point me in the right direction.

I have seen devices like CarDAQ, but I am more used to using a PC and software to interface over the ODBII. What are the backyard mechanics, modders and tuners using these days for this?