Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

A/C compressor replacement

Old 02-25-2009, 08:48 AM
Default A/C compressor replacement

So I decided to change the whole a/c compressor.I just have some questions before I start because I've never done that before.At the same time I'm thinking to replace the A/C & Altern. belt and the power steerenig belt, also idler pulley.
So as far as I see the A/C compr. is mounted by 4 bolt and 2 for the a/c lines. I was thinking before to start to go somewhere to have the gas taken out and then have them put it back in.Otherwise if I take the 2 bolt for the lines the gas will go out right? Is that where the O-rings are?So If I take all thoose bolt out the A/C would be alble to come out and don't really need special tool for it right? After I have it out I'll just put the other one the same way back in. Is there anything I should know so far if I'm doing something wrong or something? Ok after I have the compresor back in do you use some special oil to put on the O-rings? I allready have the idler or tensioner.They told me from the store that there is no idler listed and that they have tensioner so I brougt the old one overe there to measure and they are the same diameter It's just a little wider a tiny bit.It wouldn't be a problem right? So how tight you need to tighten the bolt for the idler and then how do you loosen the power steering belt? After I have everything back in I heard that you need to put some oil in the sistem.How do you do that, before you charge the sistem? and where do you put the oil from ?Is there anything else I should do.I just wanna make shoure that I do everything the right way.Now there is nothing wrong with the air.It is blowing cold and I don't want to screw it up.

The car is Crysler Sebring '02 , V6 , 2.7 sedan

I'll appreciate any help

Thanks

Old 02-25-2009, 09:47 AM