Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Gas cap message

  #1  
Old 02-24-2009, 05:50 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Gas cap message

Hello all.......I got a 2007 sebring had po440( evap malfunction) and po456 small leak detected.....so troubleshot it per chrysler troubleshoot tree and purge was fine and smoke tested system and no leaks found and looked for tsb's and found one regarding evap vent filter being upgraded to one with holes so moisture can drain out and not contamintate the module mounted down on the canister, so replaced filter and module and cleared codes and appears fine no code returned yet, however car came in with message in the odometer cluster "GASCAP" SO PER owners manual it says push odo trip reset button to clear message...okay so I do that it clears, then once you shut the car off and cycle key back on a few sec later the message "Gascap" comes back on.......I searched AllData and owners manual and IATN and no info on this.....ANYONE got any ideas or what the strategy is for turning on message or turning it off????
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 278
Default

Sounds like you may actually have a gas cap problem. Have you replaced it?
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:34 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by irdaneel View Post
Sounds like you may actually have a gas cap problem. Have you replaced it?
no not yet, if it were leaking then when I smoke tested it you'd think it would show??.....do you happen to know the strategy/ecm test criteria for when and why message is displayed..meaning how does cars system know to flip that on in the cluster??
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:41 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 4,981
Default

That message comes on when the gas tank will not hold pressure. If you gas up and forget to replace the gas cap, the system will obviously not hold pressure so the computer detects this. The most likely cause of the message is a loose gas cap. If the gas cap is defective to the point that the tank can't hold pressure, the message will also come on. The first thing to check is whether the cap is tight. If it's tight and the message appears, then get a new cap.

Could also be an evap vent control solenoid fault.
 

Last edited by dcotter0579; 02-24-2009 at 06:47 PM. Reason: Added info.
  #5  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:54 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by dcotter0579 View Post
That message comes on when the gas tank will not hold pressure. If you gas up and forget to replace the gas cap, the system will obviously not hold pressure so the computer detects this. The most likely cause of the message is a loose gas cap. If the gas cap is defective to the point that the tank can't hold pressure, the message will also come on. The first thing to check is whether the cap is tight. If it's tight and the message appears, then get a new cap.

Could also be an evap vent control solenoid fault.
vehicle is not equiped with a vent vontrol selonoid per say but what chrysler calls a EL-IM WHICH WAS REPLACED per bullitien along with vent filter, and NO gas cap is not loose. after clearing message within 5-8 sec message reappears. after smoke testing I released cap and you could hear it hiss so it will hold pressure likewise it still may be a bad cap
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-2009, 12:21 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 278
Default

Uneducated me, but if the system is measuring the pressure in the evap system, there must be some sort of pressure sensor somewhere. I've no idea where, but perhaps it's faulty?

A smoke test should have shown a bad cap, but as with all tests, the operator must do the test long enough, and thoroughly enough to get smoke to any leaks.

If you go with trial and error, a gas cap is a cheap place to start.

Sorry, only suggestions, no answers.
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-2009, 06:46 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by irdaneel View Post
Uneducated me, but if the system is measuring the pressure in the evap system, there must be some sort of pressure sensor somewhere. I've no idea where, but perhaps it's faulty?

A smoke test should have shown a bad cap, but as with all tests, the operator must do the test long enough, and thoroughly enough to get smoke to any leaks.

If you go with trial and error, a gas cap is a cheap place to start.

Sorry, only suggestions, no answers.
smoke test was done for almost 5 min and entire system was looked over..thank you for your help
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-2019, 01:32 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Default Gas Cap Evap Code

Originally Posted by mjr46 View Post
vehicle is not equiped with a vent vontrol selonoid per say but what chrysler calls a EL-IM WHICH WAS REPLACED per bullitien along with vent filter, and NO gas cap is not loose. after clearing message within 5-8 sec message reappears. after smoke testing I released cap and you could hear it hiss so it will hold pressure likewise it still may be a bad cap
Okay look under the back bumper cover/fender on the side where you gas tank is. You will see a small black box with a plug and some hoses attached to it. Unplug this plug and clean it out with some ether/alcohol, put a dab of dielectric grease onto the plug, then reconnect it and ensure itís plugged in properly. This is a common problem with Crystler. Itís more than likely just a bad connection.
 
  #9  
Old 02-11-2019, 07:04 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by JosephWayne View Post


Okay look under the back bumper cover/fender on the side where you gas tank is. You will see a small black box with a plug and some hoses attached to it. Unplug this plug and clean it out with some ether/alcohol, put a dab of dielectric grease onto the plug, then reconnect it and ensure itís plugged in properly. This is a common problem with Crystler. Itís more than likely just a bad connection.
lol, thanks for the help......that car is long gone, 10 years ago, I don't remember what even became of it, but thanks for the reply, maybe it'll help someone even me in the future on another sebring
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
calamity coyote
Chrysler Aspen
6
03-24-2019 10:47 AM
Oleg
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
3
02-16-2009 10:31 AM
PequenA
Chrysler Aspen
2
01-13-2009 07:12 AM
dphickster
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
5
05-05-2008 09:00 PM
BadStratRT
Off Topic
2
12-10-2005 11:07 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Gas cap message


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.