Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

strange problems - someone please help ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 02:21 PM
Default strange problems - someone please help ASAP

Hi there,

I was hoping someone could give me some advice, I will explain the problems/history.

last week my car would not start, not even turn over, but the battery was working fine. we jumped the starter, and it started right up, and ran fine until yesterday, when out of the blue it would not start or turn over again. (it was not sitting, i had just driven it an hour prior to this happening.) i had to call aaa, they sent a towing co. and the guy tried to jump the battery and the starter and nothing worked this time. i had him tow it to the car place and they said it was because the aftermarket alarm(which i didnt even know i had) (by the way ive been leasing this car for about 2 years that may be helpful i dont know..) and that the alarm was wired to the starter (not sure how they explained this ) but that there was a short in the alarm, which in turn was causing a short in my starter system, making my car not start. they disabled the alarm for me, and the car has been starting since. when i left the place, i turned right back around because my engine light was on and wouldnt go off. they reset it for me, and it stayed off until later that night when not only did it come back on, but the speedometer wouldnt read anything below 20mph. it would get to 20, and drop right to 0 and not move until i hit 20mph again. so it sat overnight, i got in the car and drove down the road about 7 miles and the check engine light was still on, but the speedometer was working. when i drove back down the road again (car had not been stopped i was dropping someone off ) the speedometer dropped to 0 (same thing, under 20mph it wouldnt read) and a few seconds later it got stuck in 2nd gear and if i tri