Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Transmission binding engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2016, 10:33 PM
Default Transmission binding engine

Hi All,
For sometime I have been trying to get my son's 2002 Sebring convertible 2.7 fixed. The old transmission got a hole in the case. I purchased a used one from, I think a stratus or similar, from a reputable salvage yard. Everything looks right. However, when I install it, the tranny won't bolt together to the engine all the way. There is a gap between them of about 1/4". When I bolt them together the flywheel ends up jammed up to the 2 oil pan bolts and the engine won't turn. I thought that maybe the torque converter was not seated in the tranny. Redid it and it was better, but still same problem. I have been working on most of my weekends for about 2 months and cannot get it right. Any ideas/help will really be appreciated. Thank you, George

Old 03-16-2016, 12:30 PM

Do you know what year the new transmission is from. The design was slightly changed in 2003 so you may have trouble putting a later transmissiion in a 2002.

John

Old 03-16-2016, 10:03 PM

I believe it was from a 2001 or 2002 because I remember that the '01 and '02 were the same.

Old 03-17-2016, 01:23 PM

If you still have the old transmission insert the torque converter and measure from the end of the converter to the end of the bell housing. Do the same on the new transmission. If it's jamming then there must be a difference in the measurements.

John

Old 04-23-2016, 10:17 PM
Default transmission binding