2014 300 Homelink Addition - Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums


Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8 The flagship of the Chrysler lineup offers the driver every bit of class of any European luxury sedan, combined with the availability of the Hemi, the engine which dominated the American Muscle Car Era

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-31-2016, 06:47 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default 2014 300 Homelink Addition

I just installed a new upper console to my 300 with Home Link, my old one did not have it. I remember reading that this should be plug and play but it isn't working. Does the car need to be programed to add this option? Or is there something else i need to do to make it work? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:53 AM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 4,607
Default

Homelink should only need power from the car. Make sure it is getting power. Other than that, you need to program your garage door opener to recognize it. Refer to the owners manual that comes with the garage door opener for programming instructions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2016, 04:18 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default

it doesnt seem to be getting power, the red light wont flash when i push the buttons. there are three spaces in the wiring harness without wires but without a diagram i dont know which one it would be.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2016, 07:45 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 4,607
Default

Usually, a red wire will have power all the time. That's what you want. If you can't find one close, run one from the battery or fuse box. There's a chance you might find more information about your car's wiring at 12volt.com.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2016, 05:54 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default Here is the fix!

I figured out how to make it operational. See the attached photo. I can only say this worked for my 2014, but maybe it will help others trying to do the same thing. The GREY wire is the lead going to the homelink. The YELLOW with GREEN stripe is my hot wire. I jumped them out using a short piece of thermostat/doorbell wire. So now it works just like it should.

I spoke to the service dept at the dealership and was told since it did not come with this option installed from the factory the bcm (body control module) would not send power to the grey wire and would need to be reprogrammed with that option code. Unfortunately they are not authorized to do the reprogramming and a factory service rep would need to be called in. They agreed it sounds silly but that is how it works. Everything is vin number specific so when they enter my vin into their system all they see and have access to is what is already installed. They did try to download and bypass and work around it but nothing worked. Luckily I was watching the tech while he was trying to work around the system and that was how I learned which wire controlled the garage door opener.

Hope this helps, Allen
Attached Thumbnails
2014 300 Homelink Addition-wire-harness.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2017, 11:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Thanks!

After painstakingly plowing through the internet, this solution worked! We bought a Homelink console on EBay and couldn't get it to work. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can homelink be added to a non-homelink vehicle? tfrost7 Chrysler Pacifica 1 07-30-2014 12:30 AM
Another Mopar addition to garage Kidder New Member Area 1 11-13-2012 10:35 PM
SES CODES: 2002 Chrysler Concorde Limited Addition jempub General Tech 14 05-30-2009 12:30 PM
Addition of sub to a 2000 LHS acdcfox 300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker 0 08-07-2007 12:22 PM
Dash Board warping addition Glenns HC Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8 3 02-28-2006 01:32 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.