Chrysler Pacifica Luxury meets versatility in this mid-sized sport utility vehicle

Transmission "Clunk"

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2007, 03:26 PM
Default Transmission "Clunk"

I have a 2004 Pacifica AWD, 50,000 mi. When accelerating slowly it will occasionally "clunk" very hard when shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear. This happens mostly when the engine is cold, but sometimes when it is warm. Also, when I'm accelerating from a stop and let off the gas pedal before it has shifted into 3rd it will "clunk" very hard. Not always, but fairly often.This happens more when the engine is cold, but occasionally when it is hot. The dealerdrove it and said they couldn't replicate the problem. I talked with the service manager and he blew me off by saying that I was letting off the gas when the transmission has already made up its mind to shift and that this was normal. I've been driving for 35 years and I've never had a car do this, and I can't believe it's normal. I want this taken care of while it is still under the 7/70 warranty. Any helpfuladvice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Mike

Old 12-06-2007, 07:17 AM
Default RE: Transmission "Clunk"

Did they check the trans axle fluid? Perhaps there's a leak or the fluid is old and this is causing the the problem. I have an 05' with 24,000 and the only time I get such a clunk is when I'm parked on a hill and put it into drive. Have you used the PAC to tow a trailer or such? This could have caused the fluid to degrade. Otherwise, this problem is out of my league. Good Luck!

Old 12-06-2007, 07:47 AM

Bus,

Thanks for the reply! I don't know for sure, but I would hope that they would have checked necessary fluids when I had it in there. However, with 50,000 mi. on it maybe I should have them just change the trans axle fluid, the transmission fluid and the differential fluid as a matter of general maintenance.