Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

2010 Town and Country possible engine problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2011, 10:40 AM
Default 2010 Town and Country possible engine problems

Hi,
Just joined. Need you all's help.
Last week I purchased a used Chrysler Town and County from a dealer.
Touring edition, 16k mileage.
Check engine light came on and took it to a dealership in Houston yesterday.
I am not an expert on vehicle maintenance but I believe these are what the service adviser at dealership told me. ( It is kind of greek to me. )
-Valves are not working properly.
-Cylinder pressure should be 110K psi but it is 95K psi.
-Somebody tried to fix it without taking it to dealership even though it is under warranty.
-So far I owe him $104, but he needs run more diagnostic tests that will cost me $254.
-These are just for the diagnostics, repair will be extra.
I told him yesterday when I dropped off the car not to do anything unless it was covered under warranty. I am disputing $104 charge and planning on taking the vehicle to another dealership.
By the way, minivan runs good. Wife and kids love it.
What do you all make of all of these.
You all's advise greatly appreciated.
Have a blessed day.

Old 02-08-2011, 05:20 PM

Somebody tried to fix it without taking it to dealership even though it is under warranty.
Tried to fix what????
I told him yesterday when I dropped off the car not to do anything unless it was covered under warranty.
Honestly, I would have sent you back out the way you came in......
It has to be checked first, before determining the problem, correct?? And if it is not under warranty, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE for the initial diagnosis. Someone spent time looking at your car, they deserve to be paid for their time. If it IS a warantable issue, Chrysler will pay the diagnosis time as part of their re-imbursement to the dealership.