Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2015 Town & Country Ram Air Intake?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2016, 04:55 PM
Default 2015 Town & Country Ram Air Intake?

Hello everyone,

I work as a dispatch and fleet mechanic's assistant for a transportation company. Being that our vehicles put on several hundred miles a day, fuel economy is important. in the past i had several personal vehicles where i had installed Ram Air Intakes and saw noticeable mpg gains. we have a 2015 Chrysler Town & Country in our fleet and my manager has said that we should install said intake on this van first, monitor the mpg gains, and then decide if it would be a worthy investment to modify the rest of the fleet. we 30+ vehicles so if we can see 1-3 mpg gains across the fleet then we figure it would be a worthy investment. my question to you guys is will there be any issues installing the intake? i have been told with newer ECUs that adjusting the amount of air the motor receives can cause it to go into a "limp mode". i was also told that it may not produce any MPG gains due the ECU being an "adaptive ECU" and that it will try and remain within factory parameters even if a modification is done. i was told that i need to make sure that the piping between the throttle body and the cone filter must be the same diameter as the throttle body and i shouldn't see any issues. can anyone confirm or deny this? also are there other issues that may be produced from this modification?

Thank you in advance

Old 01-25-2016, 05:20 PM

The only way to know is to compare two identically equipped vehicles. One with and one without. However, both will need to be operated in a like manner.