Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

compressor wont engage

  #1  
Old 08-28-2009, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Default compressor wont engage

hello all i have a 01 t&c my compressor died so i change it aswell as the reciver dryer and flushed the other parts put it all back together put a vaccum on the system and its holding a vaccum so i go to add freon but its not sucking it out of the can i assume because the clutch isnt kicking on and cannot figure out how to it to kick on and take the freon do i have to bypass the compressor ? any info helps thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-28-2009, 03:32 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,114
Default

if u have a vac on the system the can will have enough pressure to at least pull one whole can in with out even using the compressor. as for the power and ground for the compressor U will have power when the pcm want it to have power from the ac compressor relay and it grounds all the time.
check the 15 amp fuse to start with.
 
  #3  
Old 08-28-2009, 03:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Default

ok well i bougt the gauges and vaccum after vaccuming for a 40 min i close the high side and turn off the pump and vaccum stay there so i close low pressure line hook up 134 can it doesnt pull the freon out of the can any idea s on what im doing wrong
i checked the 15 fuse dont know how to check the releay pulled it out didnt look burnt
 

Last edited by dhhbomb; 08-28-2009 at 04:12 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-28-2009, 10:35 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,114
Default

U know the low side has to be open inorder for the freon to go in.
I think u might be using the setup wrong. Get one of the simple ones where u screw the can into a single line and then attach it to the low side.
 
  #5  
Old 08-29-2009, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Default

that was the problem the ac maniflod directiosn were wrong now i have a new problem i know there is freon in the system and the new compressor keeps cycling on and off ever 30 seconds
 
  #6  
Old 08-29-2009, 07:51 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,114
Default

thats normal based off high and low side pressure readings. Look on the little blue sticker it will tell how much U need to have in there as well.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
gflu
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
2
05-06-2012 11:25 PM
genoaz
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
2
09-16-2011 09:10 AM
rastoma
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
8
06-08-2011 08:05 PM
mikemonce
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
5
03-05-2010 05:12 PM
muttley925
General Tech
1
09-29-2008 03:21 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: compressor wont engage


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.