Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Excessive fuel consumption

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2013, 07:11 PM
Default Excessive fuel consumption

Hello everyone, this is my first time on this site so I hope get right. Ok I own a 2000 Town n Country and three days ago on my to work it started acting as if it was running out of gas, so I look at my fuel gauge,1/4 tank so its not empty. I began to loose speed and could not regain any so I pull over and she died. Tried cranking it several times nothing, I checked to see if the pump was coming on, it was. I check the pressure at the rails, nothing at all. Here's where I screwed up, I decided to change the filter first since its the cheapest route and broke the stem off the fuel assembly, now I have to buy a new pump because its sold as a unit. New pump, new filter she cranks right up. Now here's where I need help, before this problem I could get like 22-26 mpg's hwy, now its so bad I really can't afford to drive it. I was sitting at a red light today and on the information center the DTE went from 41 to 27 just from sitting at a red light, right now I get about 9 mpg. If anyone can help me I would gladly appreciate it and thanks in advance.

Old 11-20-2013, 07:31 PM

Since it started after the pump/filter change I would check the pressure again at the rail. Should see 49 psi. Any signs of a leak? Check engine light/codes? Other than the lousy mileage how does it drive?

Old 11-21-2013, 05:13 AM

Generally speaking if a problem comes about right after you've done some remedial work, a VERY critical examination of what you've done, plus all around it is in order. Take your time, and if at all possible have a knowledgeable friend do the checks with you. On a time-effective basis it's well worth doing.
1) Knocked off the injector back-leak pipe?
2) Forgotten to tighten a union?