Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trying to get a 97 T&C going

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2011, 10:03 PM
Default Trying to get a 97 T&C going

Okay, I typed a bunch of stuff out and realized how long and boring it was, even though I indented most of it. Skip through it all to get to what I'm trying to solve, and if you have questions, then scroll up a bit for background and skim.

I'm new to the Chrysler family and I'm glad I found this board. I relied heavily on Brickboard (Volvo) and SaturnFans for previous cars. I recently became the owner of a '97 T&C and was worried that I wouldn't be able to find such committed fans, but it looks like I was wrong. <grin>

Forgive the long narrative, but it'll give the complete background. Skip the indented part of you simply want to get to the issues.
Got the car a week ago from a couple who wouldn't know how to hold a screwdriver (I know them personally) so they've never attempted to do anything to it themselves (thankfully). They are also really tight (example: about a year ago they knew there were going to get rid of the van and called me to ask me to go with them to help select a good set of used tires for the van (I got out of it)). They did some necessary repairs along the way, but that's about it.

For the last nine months it would often stall while at red lights and would 'stumble' at other times. When I drove it home I noticed that when I was going uphill and let off the accelerator (getting to close to the car in front of me, for example), when I hit the pedal again the van would attempt to die (RPM and MPH needles would dive) but catch up again