Forum Issues Need help with Chrysler Forum? Ask. Have a suggestion to better Chrysler Forum? Tell us here.

intake?

  #1  
Old 10-05-2008, 04:53 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default intake?

i put my intake on and every time i start it i lose my rpm's (lose pressure) and it stahls i checked well for vacum leaks but i dunno what to do.
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-2008, 06:21 PM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 4,988
Default RE: intake?

What car model are we talking here? Which engine? How many miles. Have you checked for codes on the computer? When you say "intake" are you referring to the intake manifold? Could your air filter be on backwards or totally clogged?
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-2008, 07:09 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default RE: intake?

cold air intake,v6 3.0 liter, 70,000 miles,sebring lxi its all brand new pipes and filter the maf sensor was put on right and my vacum hose was on tight. i was not sure if i needed to add a gasket also. the kit was for my model car but some how its losing pressure. if i turn it on i can keep it on with constantly hitting the accelerator , or even my keeping my a/c on because it makes it rev higher...
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:34 AM
dcotter0579's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 4,988
Default RE: intake?

The way the maf (mass air flow) sensor works is that the powertrain control module (PCM or engine control computer) sends a variable current to the sensor in order to maintain a constant temperature. It varies the voltage to vary the current. As the air flow increases, it will need to send more current (higher voltage) to maintain the same temperature. This is all calibrated using the standard air intake hardware.
Since you changed the intake air hardware, the calibration is all different, so your engine's computer is confused.
You should contact the people who supplied your intake air kit and tell them of your problems. They ought to have a remedy, either a different sensor or some way of re-calibrating the system so the maf sensor will read properly.
Good luck. Let us know how it works out.
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 278
Default RE: intake?

Your idle air valve may not be functioning correctly. It is controlled in part by the throttle position sensor through the PCM. It is also affected when your A/C compressor is on.

If it is just that your computer is confused, try disconnecting both battery cables and touching them together. I don't think that will solve your problem, but it's a cheap and easy attempt.

Have your codes read and post them here.

Also, why did you change out your air intake system, and is it factory or aftermarket?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
onebad300C
Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8
10
02-21-2007 01:27 AM
fdfever
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
0
10-14-2006 06:28 PM
Chrysler 300, 300C & 300C SRT-8
2
10-31-2005 11:03 PM
al
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
2
06-23-2005 02:56 PM
xtreme1_419
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
1
05-16-2005 10:17 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: intake?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.