General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Recall P57 / Ignition Switch

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2015, 05:19 PM
Question Recall P57 / Ignition Switch

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to your group. I was wondering if anyone here knew the technical details of P57 as it relates to the wireless control module (WCM). I recently had P57 performed on my vehicle and when it was returned the tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) wasn't working. After several back and fourths with the dealership, they said the new WCM operated on a different frequency than the original and that it was no longer compatible with third party tire pressure sensors, so my sensors would need to be replaced at a total cost of $460. ($115 per OEM sensor, for parts and labor)

So my questions are:

1) Does anyone know if the specs on the replacement WCM were changed to operate on a different frequency than the original WCM?

2) Has anyone else had issues with their TPMS after having recall P57 performed, and were you using third party tire pressure sensors?

Thank you for reading and I look forward to any input.

Old 10-14-2015, 07:23 AM

Hi Bill32179,
I looked up the detailed information on this recall and I've pasted some relevant information for you below. Let me know if you have any additional questions that I might be able to answer for you.

Parts Information:
SPECIAL NOTE: The original “Valet Key” must be transferred from the original FOBIK to the new FOBIK.
NOTE: All of the WIN Module Packages listed below come with two new preprogrammed FOBIK’s.